Remember, it’s not all about the employer. Discussing salary expectations gives you the chance to make sure the job will cover your expenses and support the standard of living you want. [2] X Research source Salary expectations can also come up if you’re seeking a raise or promotion at your current company.

Undervaluing your worth can lead the employer to assume you’re too junior for the role, you’re unwilling to take on responsibilities, or you don’t take yourself seriously enough. If you get the job but negotiate for too low a salary, you might even struggle to make ends meet. [4] X Trustworthy Source Harvard Business Review Online and print journal covering topics related to business management practices Go to source Overvaluing your worth might lead the employer to feel like you’re out of their budget or too senior for a role. In the worst-case scenario, it could lead an employer to assume you think too highly of yourself or have unrealistic expectations.

Sites like Glassdoor. com and Salary. com can all give you a preview of average salaries for a given role. Sites like LinkedIn. com and Indeed. com might be able to give you a salary range for active job postings. Keep in mind, these estimates give you a market range and won’t reflect entire salary packages (which includes things like vacation time, healthcare, retirement savings plans, etc. ).

For someone you know: “Hi, can I get your opinion on something? I know money’s a tricky topic, but I’m interviewing for a new position and want to make sure my salary expectations sound right. Do you have a rough idea of what I should ask for?” For someone you don’t know well: “Hi—I’m Hamza, and I see we’re both in the cloud storage business. Would you mind if I asked for some career advice? I’m interviewing for a PM role with a new company and want to make sure my salary expectations are on target, given that I was underpaid at my last job. How much would you expect a company like Cloud Cave Data to pay for someone with my experience?” Asking about salaries doesn’t have to be awkward. In fact, a survey showed 27% of people would respond if a job candidate asked them about their salary. [8] X Trustworthy Source Harvard Business Review Online and print journal covering topics related to business management practices Go to source

Remember there are non-monetary forms of compensation in a salary package (like paid vacation, childcare, a flexible work schedule, stock options, and relocation comp). If an employer won’t increase your starting salary, they might be able to boost other forms of compensation. You can typically see the list of additional perks and benefits in the job posting.

If you’ll have to relocate, search online for “cost of living calculator” to find percentage price comparisons between geographic areas. [12] X Research source

Keep a record of your work and achievements that you can reference in your interview. For instance, if you can say something like, “I created a new workflow for processing customer invoices that led to 10% savings in my department,” you’ll be in a better position to negotiate.

“I’ve done some research and have a market range in mind for compensation. But I’d like to hear what you have in mind for someone with my experience. ” “I could give you a range based on my industry research, but I’d like to get to know more about the position and company first. What’s the typical compensation structure like at this company?”

“Based on the market range for this position and my skills, I’d expect to earn between $42,000-$47,000. However, overall fit with the company and the job itself is more important to me than the exact starting salary, so I’m willing to be flexible. ” “I’m looking for a position with a salary range of $51,000-$55,000, but I’m willing to negotiate based on other benefits and stock options. ” The range strategy works especially well in the initial application phase, particularly if you’re unsure about typical compensation or the role’s responsibilities.

“I’d be looking at a range of $58,000 to $62,000, given the experience and rich, industry-specific skill set I’d bring to this role. ” “I’m really excited about the opportunities for growth in this role and the ability to contribute to such an ambitious company vision. That being said, I am looking for a position with a compensation range between $47,000-$50,000 at this point in my career. ”

If they ask you for an exact number say something like, “This position sounds like such a great fit, given my experience leading a similar team at my last job. I know we’ve discussed a salary range, and I’d like to suggest $52,000 as a starting salary, given my experience. ” If they make you an offer, say something like, “Thank you for the offer. I’d like to take a day or two to think it over and I’ll get back to you. ” Not every company will ask you to name your exact ideal salary. For instance, if you’re working for public service or a university, they may have strict and transparent salary ranges, though you can still make your case to start at the upper band of the salary scale.

Don’t use language like, “I need this amount of money to pay off my student loans” or “I know I can get this much at another company. ” Do thank the interviewer and end your response with something like, “I’m really excited about this position, I’m open to further discussion around a fair salary. ”

“That’s a great question. For someone with my experience, what’s the typical range for this role?”

For instance, if you make $50,000, a 3% raise would give you $51,500. Then, you’d ask for 10% higher, which would be $56,650. Round your answers to simplify your request. You could say something like, “I’m open to discussing compensation, but I’m ideally looking for a position with a salary between $52,000 and $57,000. "

“I have flexible salary requirements, but I do have extensive experience in this industry and a unique skillset that I know would add value. I’d like to learn more about the position and its responsibilities, and then I’d feel comfortable discussing salary expectations. ”

“I hear what you’re saying about the benefits package, but after researching the going rate for someone with my qualifications, I really can’t take a position for less than $45,000 a year. Is there any flexibility in the budget?” “Ideally, I’m looking for a position in the range of $41,000-$45,000. But I’m open to negotiating based on the total compensation package. Is there any wiggle room in terms of company stock options?”

“Thank you so much for the chance to interview for this position. I’ve decided to pursue other opportunities right now, but I’m sincerely grateful for your time and consideration. ” “I’m very grateful for your consideration, but I’m going to have to decline the offer. I’m still incredibly passionate about the work your company does, so I hope we’ll get to talk again further down the line. ”